The Hanbury Wealth Recital Series

Hanbury wealth logo clearer

With the generous support of local business Hanbury Wealth, we are delighted to announce a Recital Series taking place at the College this Spring.  The series will consist of three concerts, to be held in the Memorial Hall, each featuring a visiting soloist or ensemble for the delight of both the College community and the general public.  Tickets to all events are just £10 for adults and free of charge for under 18s.

The first recital, on 8th March will feature Cameron Smith on cello and Madelaine Jones on piano. This will be followed by a choral performance from the Gentlemen of St. John's College Cambridge on 21st March and finally a return performance from the enormously popular Lucy Parham on 26th April. Further details about the recitals and our performers are below.

Please click here for tickets.

Cameron Smith and Madelaine Jones. A Cello and Piano Recital on Thursday 8th March

The first recital, on 8th March will feature Cameron Smith on cello and Madelaine Jones on piano.

Cameron smith madelaine jones

Presenting a programme (yet to be finalised) this promises to be a delightful evening. The musical repertoire is likely to include

  • Saint Saens - Sonata no. 1 op.32
  • Bloch - Suite 'From Jewish Life'
  • Debussy - Cello sonata no. 1 (possible change)
  • Judith Weir - Three chorales 
  • Lili Boulanger - Nocturne 

Cameron Smith, Cellist

A versatile and soulful cellist, Cameron Smith is a recent graduate of Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance where he studied cello under the tutelage of Joely Koos.  He freelances both as a chamber and orchestral musician, and has played in most of the city’s major concert venues, working with the likes of the ‘Ritz String Quintet’ and on upcoming shows ‘The Woman in White’, ‘Braille Legacy’ and ‘Grey Gardens’. Cameron has a passion for contemporary and underperformed music of the 20th and 21st centuries.  He works regularly with composers and has performed several new commissions, while continuing his studies under the guidance of Tim Gill.

Madelaine Jones, Pianist

Madelaine Jones actively performs as both a solo pianist and a chamber musician, with recent performances at venues including Cadogan Hall and St. John Smith’s Square. She is a graduate of the Royal College of Music and Trinity Laban Conservatoire, where she won numerous prizes and competitions. Alongside her busy performing schedule, Madelaine is also a composer, with recent commissions including an arrangement of Tawel Nos (‘Silent Night’) for the Eastcastle Chorus, and a piece for naked pianist which premiered in Paris in 2017. She is also currently undertaking research at the Open University, exploring the concept of lip-syncing in classical performance.

For more information about Madelaine you can view her website here.

The Gentlemen of St John's College, Cambridge. A Choral Recital on Wednesday 21st March

  Gentlemen of st johns college cambridge3

The programme for this evening's performance will be confirmed shortly.

Formed of the Choral Scholars of the world-renowned, Gramophone award-winning Choir of St John’s College, Cambridge, the Gentlement of St John's have enjoyed a remarkably busy schedule of concerts and recordings for over forty years. Aged between 18 and 23, The Gents are noted for their versatility with a repertoire ranging from early sacred music to folksongs to more modern close- harmony, making them equally at home in churches, on the concert platform or in the dining hall.

In recent years, The Gents have had the privilege to perform at such venues as London’s Cadogan Hall, Royal Albert Hall, Wigmore Hall, Tokyo’s Suntory Hall and the Sydney Opera House, and recent performances have taken them to Bangkok, Singapore, America, Belgium, Germany, Holland, Italy and South Africa. In addition to frequent broadcasts with the full Choir of St John’s College, they were recent guests on Radio 3’s In Tune. They also enjoy regularly leading workshops in the UK and abroad.

Lucy Parham. A Piano Recital on Thursday 26th April

Lucy parham

Lucy's performance, 'Music For a Spring Night' will include


Clara Schumann - Nocturne Op.6

Schumann           - Fantasiestucke Op.12

Schumann/Liszt  - Fruhlingsnacht

                           - Widmun


Debussy             - Estampes

Chopin               - Nocturne in D flat Op. 27 No.2

                          - Waltzes Op.64

                          - Ballade No.4 in F minor Op.54

Acknowledged as one of Britain's finest pianists, Lucy Parham applies her sensitivity and imagination not only to concertos and recitals, but also to portraits in words and music of such composers as Schumann, Chopin, Liszt and Debussy.  

“In an age that has seen the piano become increasingly objectified, Parham takes her listeners back to a golden age when music was a metaphor for life itself. Hers is playing that is not so much about the actual notes but exploring the elusive regions of expressive reverie that lie tantalisingly hidden between and behind them”  BBC Music Magazine 

Further information about Lucy can be found on here website.